Chaplet of The Five Wounds, Prayer


The Five Wounds of God chaplet information

This chaplet contains 5 groups of 5 beads each.

On each bead one Glory Be is said, and between the groups one Hail Mary in honor of the Sorrowful Virgin. Meanwhile one meditates on the Wounds of Our Lord Jesus Christ.

Usually there are medals attached to the beads, (or 3 beads added at the beginning or the chaplet. These medals show the Wounds of Christ on one side and Our Lady of Sorrows on the other. They are not required either for blessing or for gaining the indulgences. Ordinarily the medals are so arranged that we meditate first on the Wound in the left foot of Our Lord, then those in the right foot, the left hand, right hand, and finally the wounds in the sacred side.

The first mention of the beads of the Five Wounds is found in a document dating back to 1821. The Platea of Sts. John and Paul, at Rome, relates "The Most Rev. Fr. General, acting in accordance with our spirit to promote devotion to the Passion of Our Lord, obtained permission to bless the Chaplet of the Five Wounds, at the same time enriching it with indulgences."

This chaplet was first approved by a decree of Pius VII dated Jan. 22, 1822.

Information taken from:
TWENTY-FOUR ROSARIES AND CHAPLETS by Patrick Shaughnessy, O.S.B., S.T.D. Reprinted 1984 by Our Lady's Rosary Makers.
Thank you for visiting our web site
Last up-date November 2008

Valid XHTML 1.1